Slipping Into Slumber

Sometimes getting home is the hardest part of the journey. 24 hours in, with another 14 to go, and I’ve had only brief snatches of bus-sleep. I wrote this at some point in the hours between yesterday and today, and somehow it stayed in my mind. It describes a bit how I feel right now, having maybe tried to do too much, although in the end, despite my sleep addled state, I am smiling. It’s been a great trip.

Icarus is falling
From somewhere near the sun.
The Earth alone can catch him,
His mad descent near done.
If only he’d been counseled
To quit when he had won,
He’d have a bright new future
Instead of having none.
‘Worst of all,’ he’s thinking,
Daedalus’ only son,
‘I’ve written my own fortune,
And the ink’s begun to run.’

About anotherexilefromparadise

I am a writer, by passion if not by profession.
This entry was posted in Dreams, Eastern Europe, Europe, Fiction, Thoughts, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slipping Into Slumber

  1. cola says:

    i like it!!

Tell me what you think!

