Exile’s Return

My eyes are on fire,
And smoke billows from my lungs.
I have passed through flame
To emerge with skin
charred and cracked,
With hair fizzled.
My heart has burst from unbearable heat,
And my soul is all but seared.
It was a long journey,
And though I have traveled far,
It is not nearly done.

Weary and wasted,
I followed light’s slow descent
Into the land of evening,
Pursued by voices from the ether,
With words of songs both familiar and un-:

Strap from you tether
Unwinds.
Some kind of madness is
Swallowing me whole.
I think I’m breaking down
Again.

They tease me,
They trip me,
They loose my feet from the stirrups,
They send my head swirling,
They threaten to cast me down from the saddle.

But other words break in,
Unbidden, yet welcome:

Carry on, my wayward son!
There’ll be peace when you are done!

They echo through the night,
Off mountain walls,
Through forest halls,
And they set my heels back down.
My back is straight,
My head aloft,
The danger of falling
Has passed for now.
A thought emerges:
I am my own soundtrack.

My faithful steed,
From East of Mississippi way,
Lumbers beneath me,OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Veteran of many a campaign,
Ever-present confidant
And comforter.
We have passed through the fire
Together.
We have arrived in this place
Intact.
We may rest now.
We may heal now.
But then we must toil anew.
It is a strange sort of paradise,
But for now,
For better
Or for worse,
We have returned.

About anotherexilefromparadise

I am a writer, by passion if not by profession.
This entry was posted in Memories, Music, Thoughts, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Exile’s Return

  1. And……he’s back! *smiles*

Tell me what you think!

